2:

Cabinet d’avocats MUL
 
CONTACT : info@drmul.com




Formulaire de contact


Honoraires
 

L'avocat est en droit de fixer lui-même ses honoraires. Le Code judiciaire (art. 446ter) oblige cependant les avocats à taxer leurs honoraires avec la discrétion que l’on doit attendre d'eux dans l'exercice de leur fonction. 

Indépendamment de cette restriction légale, l'avocat détermine lui-même la façon dont il calcule ses honoraires. Sans pour autant être obligatoires, trois méthodes de calcul sont couramment utilisées pour l'évaluation des honoraires.

Honoraires


Il y a 3 méthodes principales pour le calcul des honoraires :
1: calcul par unité de temps: il s'agit d'un montant par heure (partielle) facturable pour les services fournis; en général nous chargeons € 150/heure. Il va de soi que ce montant peut être revu à la hausse ou à la baisse en fonction de la spécificité du dossier (compliqué/simple; urgent/pas urgent, etc.)

2: calcul en fonction de la valeur de l'affaire, ce qui revient à un pourcentage sur la valeur (évaluable en argent) d'une affaire ;
Sauf accord spécifique, les pourcentages suivants sont appliqués (avec un minimum de € 500):

de 0 € à 9.000 € 15%
de 9.001 € à 50.000 €: 10%
de 50.001 € à 125.000 €: 8%
de 125.001 € à 250.000 €: 6%
au-delà de 250.000 €: 5%

Ce calcul peut être appliqué par l'avocat tant de la partie défenderesse que de la partie demanderesse sur le montant gagné ou épargné par le client.

Dans ce cas également des corrections peuvent s'imposer. Si la demande est de toute évidence non fondée ou si la somme réclamée est manifestement exagérée, l'avocat applique le pourcentage sur la partie de la demande qui peut être justifiée.

Le pourcentage est également réduit de moitié si la demande n'est pas contestée ou si le résultat est obtenu avant d’entamer une procédure. L'avocat de la partie demanderesse réduit de moitié le pourcentage sur la partie rejetée de la demande, de même que l'avocat de la partie défenderesse réduit de moitié le pourcentage sur le montant de la demande octroyée au demandeur.

En cas d'appel, les honoraires seront réduits de moitié pour la partie « appel »

3: calcul en fonction de la nature de l'affaire, à savoir un montant forfaitaire par prestation ou par série de prestations. 

NOTICE IMPORTANTE: la partie défaillante est condamnée à payer une compensation (indemnité judiciaire) qui couvre les honoraires, en partie ou dans leur totalité. Par exemple: un jugement pour un montant de € 40.000 donne droit à une indemnité de base de € 2.500.

Dépenses, frais et debours

Indépendamment des honoraires, il y a les dépenses, les frais de secrétariat et les débours spécifiques, comme les frais de transport, traduction, taxes administratives e.a.

Les dépenses, par exemple les frais d’huissier, frais de mise au rôle, etc. sont mises en compte telles quelles, sans majoration aucune.

Frais et débours:
Ouverture et enregistrement du dossier: € 30
Frais de secrétariat: € 10/unité (= 1 page dactylographiée ou un courriel)
Frais de transport: € 0,60/Km
Traduction par le cabinet: € 0,04/caractère


Les frais de secretariat peuvent également être calculés - et ce à la discrétion de l'avocat - à 8% des honoraires; cette façon de calculer est en général suivie dans des dossiers qui nécessitent d'importants frais de secretariat.

 

Les charges adminstratives peuvent également se calculer comme un pourcentage (7%) sur les honoraires; en général ce système est préféré pour les dossiers complexes. 

TVA

- Un avocat belge fournit un service à un particulier ou à un preneur assujetti en Belgique: il y a exemption de TVA.

- Un avocat belge fournit un service à un preneur assujetti dans l’UE : la prestation sera localisée dans l’Etat du preneur, taxable selon les modalités et le taux de cet Etat. L’avocat belge est soumis à des obligations administratives.

- Un avocat belge fournit un service à un particulier (ou autre non assujetti) dans l’UE : la prestation est localisée en Belgique, il y a exemption de TVA.

- Un avocat belge fournit un service à une personne localisée hors de l’UE (assujetti ou non) : il n y a pas de TVA communautaire applicable.

 

CONDITIONS GENERALES

 

1.       Seules les présentes conditions générales s'appliquent aux services fournis par l’avocat Karel Mul, ses employés et ses collaborateurs (ci-après: «l’Avocat»). L’appointement de l’Avocat implique l'acceptation expresse de ces conditions générales.

 

2.       L’Avocat s'engage à faire ce qui est dans ses moyens afin de mener à bien les tâches qui lui sont confiées et est soumis à une obligation de moyens.

 

3.       La responsabilité de l’Avocat est limitée aux modalités des présentes conditions et par les clauses de l'assurance responsabilité civile professionnelle souscrite par le Barreau chez Ethias SA, pour un montant de 1.250.000 euros par sinistre.

A la demande expresse du client une couverture plus étendue peut être obtenue, les frais supplémentaires étant à la charge du client.

 

4.       Sauf convention contraire expresse l’Avocat n'est pas responsable pour les services fournis par des tiers, à sa demande, comme par exemple des huissiers de justice, des traducteurs, etc.

 

5.       Sauf convention contraire expresse avec le client, les honoraires sont calculés sur la base des informations publiées sur le site www.drmul.com.

La méthode de détermination du calcul des honoraires se fait en tenant compte de la nature de l'affaire confiée à l'Avocat et dépend de sa seule discrétion.

Au cas où les honoraires dépendent du résultat obtenu (succes-fee) il est entendu que la mission de l’Avocat s’étend jusqu’à la liquidation totale de la procédure; l’Avocat peut décider de façon souveraine de faire appel contre un jugement défavorable pour le client ou d'accepter un jugement qu'il estime être favorable en tenant compte des éléments du dossier. Si le client décide de mettre fin à la relation professionnelle, il sera tenu de payer les honoraires prévus pour toute la procédure. 

Les honoraires sont majorés par les frais aux taux publiés sur le site.

 

6.       Tous les montants sont payables à Anvers. Toute somme non payée sera automatiquement et sans préavis, augmentée d’un intérêt de 1 % par mois et d’une compensation de 10 %, avec un minimum de 250 euros.

 

7.       En cas de non-paiement d'une facture, ou d’une demande de paiement l’Avocat est en droit de suspendre ou de mettre fin à son intervention et ce sans préavis aucun.

 

8.       La relation juridique entre l'Avocat et le client est exclusivement soumise au droit belge et à la compétence des Tribunaux d'Anvers ou de Gand, à la discrétion de l’Avocat, sans préjudice pour lui d’entamer une action juridique devant le Tribunal du ressort du client.

 

 

 
 
 

 

 
Cabinet d'avocats MUL
ANVERS: Jan Van Rijswijcklaan, 194A b. 6 
2020 Anvers, Belgique 
GAND: Kloosterstraat, 7, 
9080 Beervelde-Lochristi

TVA BE 0503.699.125 

G
G



© 2013 - Cabinets d’avocats MUL ( Toutes les droites sont réservées )

2:

MUL Law Offices
 
CONTACT US : info@drmul.com




Contact Form


Tariffs
 

FEES AND COSTS / GENERAL CONDITIONS

 

In accordance with the Judicial Code (Art. 446ter) the lawyer must estimate the fees with the caution expected of the profession, and that estimate must be fair and reasonable. According to the rules of the Bar, the lawyer may not advance costs, such as legal expenses (summons, court registration costs, etc.); this implies that a retainer will be asked to cover these expenses.


FEES:


In general, there are 3 methods to calculate the applicable fees:

 

1.   fee per unit of time: this is an amount per chargeable (part of an) hour for services provided. The rate depends on the aspects of the case. The tariff will be decided in the beginning of the professional relationship and will not be adapted, unless both the lawyer and the client agree to it. In general and unless another tariff is agreed upon, the hourly fee is set at € 150. For complicated or extremely simple cases the hourly tariff may be respectively higher or lower.

 

2.   fee related to the value of the case, in other words, charging a percentage of the value of the case expressed in money;

To calculate the value of the case, both the principal and the interests must be taken into account.

 

Unless agreed otherwise in writing, the following percentages apply (with a minimum of € 500):


from 0 €                 to           9.000 €     15 %

from 9.001 €           to         50.000 €:    10 %
from 50.001 €         to       125.000 €:      8 %
from 125.001 €       to       250.000 €:      6 %
above 250,000 €:                                   5 %

This percentage applies to the amount that the client has won or saved.

Here too, corrections or other coefficients may apply.


When the claim is manifestly unfounded, or if the amount claimed is manifestly excessive, the lawyer doesn’t apply the percentage on the clearly excessive portion of the claim.


The percentage is reduced by half if the claim is undisputed, or if the result is obtained before a lawsuit is initiated. The plaintiff's lawyer reduces the percentage by at least half of the rejected portion of the claim, and the defendant's lawyer reduces the percentage by at least half of the amount of the claim awarded to the plaintiff.

If the result is obtained in appeal, the fees are increased by 50% for the appeal.

 

3.   fee related to the nature of the case, i.e. a fixed amount per service or series of services. However, this method can only be used in some specific cases. If applicable, the amount will be discussed beforehand.

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE: If the case is won, the defendant has to pay a compensation that covers (at least part of) the fees. The calculation of the compensation depends on the amount due; an example: an award into € 40.000 leads to a basic compensation of € 3.000.

 

 

EXPENSES


Besides fees, there are also expenses. They are charged separately to the client. Expenses are amounts that the lawyer incurs in carrying out a task assigned to him on behalf of the client.

 

Expenses: summons, court expenses, such as court registration, judgment costs, translation costs, etc. The exact amount is charged.

 

Other office expenses:

Opening (registration) file: € 30

Secretary costs: € 10/item (= typed page or mail)

Travel expenses: € 0,60/Km

In-house translation: € EUR 0,04 /character

 

The secretarial expenses may also be calculated (at the discretion of the lawyer) as 8% of the fees; this way of calculating is mostly used in files that require a lot of typing.

 

VAT:

 

- A Belgian lawyer provides a service to a private person or personal company liable for VAT in Belgium: the services are exempt from VAT

 

- A Belgian lawyer provides a service to a recipient who is liable for VAT in the EU: the service is located in the state of the recipient and taxed under the rules and the rate of that State. The Belgian lawyer is subject to administrative requirements.

 

- A Belgian lawyer provides a service to a private individual (or other non-taxable) in the European Union: the service is located in Belgium, there is exemption from VAT.

 

- A Belgian lawyer provides a service to a person established outside the EU (whether or not subject to VAT): no Community VAT applies.

FEE-NOTES:

        

Unless agreed otherwise beforehand, all fee-notes and demands for payment of costs and/or expenses are due within 30 days of their issuing.

 

 

GENERAL CONDITIONS

 

1.       Only these general conditions apply to the services provided by Advocate/Attorney at Law Karel Mul, his employees and appointees (further: “The Lawyer”). The appointment of the Lawyer implies the acceptance of these terms and conditions that are sole applicable.

2.       The Lawyer undertakes the necessary care to the implementation of the tasks entrusted to him and which fulfillment is an obligation of means.

3.       The liability of the Lawyer is limited to the terms of the General Conditions and the amount is limited to the cover given by the professional liability insurance of the Antwerp bar, underwritten at Ethias NV, amounting to 1.250,000 Euros per claim.

A higher coverage can be obtained at the express request of the client for which the additional costs will be borne by the client.

4.       Unless otherwise are expressly agreed, the Lawyer is not liable for the services provided by third parties, such as bailiffs, translators, etc. with whom he works.

5.       Unless expressly agreed otherwise with the client, the fees shall be calculated on the basis of the information published on the website www.drmul.com.

The method used for determining the calculation of the fees takes into account the nature of the case entrusted to the Lawyer and depends of his sole decision. The acceptation of a success-fee agreement implies that the Lawyer is entitled with the proceedings until their end and that he may decide autonomously whether to lodge an appeal against an unfavorable verdict for the client or to accept a decision that he considers to be fair; if the client decides to put an end to the cooperation, he/she is obliged to pay all the pays for the assigned task.

The fees are increased by the costs at the rate published on the website.

6.       All amounts due to the Lawyer are payable in Antwerp. Any amount will automatically, without any necessity for sending a notice, bear interests at 1 % per month plus a compensation for non-payment of 10 % with a minimum of 250 €

7.       In case of non-payment of an invoice or a demand for payment the Lawyer is entitled to suspend or to terminate his future activities on the file that he was entrusted with without any notice.

8.       The legal relationship between the Lawyer and the client is exclusively submitted to Belgian law and the Courts of either Antwerp or Ghent at the discretion of the Lawyer, without prejudice for the Lawyer to initiate legal action before the Courts of the jurisdiction of the client.

 
 
 

 

 
ANTWERP OFFICE: Jan van Rijswijcklaan,194A b. 6, B-2020 ANTWERP, BELGIUM tel + 32 3 237 34 26 fax + 32 3 237 07 44 GHENT OFFICE: Kloosterstraat, 7 B-9080 BEERVELDE-LOCHRISTI tel + 32 475 26 66 64 fax +32 9 296 11 77 INFO@DRMUL.COM


© 2013 - MUL Law Offices ( All Rights are Reserved )